Custom Palette

Hi,
I’m quite new in the use of GoJs, but I love it.

I need to do a custom palette where items shoul be represented as treeview (or something similar just to let user know the hierarchy of items) and allow only leaf to be dragged into diagram.

Could anyone please tell me where to start or just tell me some hints to simplify this work?

Many thanks in advance!

Andrea

Take a look at the TreeView sample. You’ll want to set Node.copyable = false on the inner nodes and .copyable = true on the leaf nodes. I haven’t tried this, but maybe you could get that effect by binding this way in your Node template:

new go.Binding("copyable", "isTreeLeaf").ofObject()

Wait – I just tried this, and it doesn’t work because Node.isTreeLeaf is not a settable property. But you can do it programmatically by:

myDiagram.addDiagramListener("LayoutCompleted", function(e) { for (var it = myDiagram.nodes.iterator; it.next(); ) { var node = it.value; node.copyable = node.isTreeLeaf; } });

The target Diagram will need Diagram.allowDrop = true. Remember that the templates that you use can be different between the two Diagrams, because you are dragging model data, not Nodes. And you’ll probably want them to be different, if you are using the Binding shown above.

Double wait – I don’t know why it didn’t seem to work for me when I tried it the first time, but now I find that the Binding:

new go.Binding("copyable", "isTreeLeaf").ofObject()

works fine after all. So that Diagram listener isn’t needed.

I added:

and: myTarget = $(go.Diagram, "myTarget", { allowDrop: true });

I modified myDiagram to be a Palette:
myDiagram =
$(go.Palette, “myDiagram”,
{ allowHorizontalScroll: false });

And I added that Binding to the Node template:
myDiagram.nodeTemplate =
$(go.Node,
new go.Binding(“copyable”, “isTreeLeaf”).ofObject(),
. . .

That’s all I did to modify the TreeView sample, and it worked as I think you are asking for.

Thanks!