Simple Port ID attrribute error

I am brand new to GoDiagram and just purchased my copy on Monday. I’ve been able to setup the graphs I need and I am working with the LayoutDemo, as it is the closet to what I need. However, the demo app is based significantly on the MDI design and my app is not an MDI app. So I am trying to work through all of the differences in the demo and apply some of the styles used in the demo to my actual app to generate XML and load the XML back in to regenerate the graph.

I am running into a problem now that I am saving the graphs into XML and then loading them again using the layout demo app. I think that my approach is going to be to start with my app to create the graph, but build a veiwer app starting with the layoutdemo as the base to my viewer. Then build it up from there. So what I am trying to do is to save the XML from my app, then load the XML using the layout demo.
I am having a lot of trouble getting the XML output from my app to match the XML output from the demo app. I copied all of the DemoDocument.IntializeReaderWriter() code and tried to use that to create the same XML output from my app. But when I do so, it does not create the same XML as the layout demo app. Actually it would not even work until I modified it based on code from the user documentation. I'm not sure why it works in the demo app but it does not work in my app. I guess there are other things controlling the settings outside of the initialization routine in the layoutdemo app.
I think I have worked through each problem with the XML except for one. That is what I hope someone can help me with.
My code is generating XML that looks like:
The layoutdemo generates code that looks like: