Very slow paste

I am new to WPF so I am sure I am doing something wrong. I am evaluating GoXam by implementing a few features we developed using GoDiagram. I am creating a data class derived from GraphLinksModelNodeData which binds to a xaml NodePanel derivative in a DataTemplate. I need to apply a xaml symbol to my components and I am using OnInitialized in the NodePanel derivative to TryFindResource using a string key to return a ControlTemplate. This holds the xaml for the symbol. I then create a ContentControl and assign the template to its Template property then make it a child of a ViewBox. The ViewBox in turn is added to the NodePanel.InternalChildren. This all works and I am able to set up a network of linked components.

Copying up to 12 components works well but > 12 causes a 2 minute delay per component. I tried saving the "symbol" (ControlTemplate) with the data. It means that the call to OnInitialized when pasting does not need to read the xaml. I thought perhaps that as that was the biggest chunk of data it could be the problem. However it makes no difference.
Any thoughts please.

Perhaps I misunderstand what you are doing, but that seems a rather complicated way to go. There must be something seriously wrong for there to be such a long delay.

Do you really need to use a NodePanel at all? Can’t you use a DataTemplate instead of a ControlTemplate and modifying the visual tree in code?