Angle-changing tree layout

I’m quite new with GoJS and I would like to make an UML class diagram. I’m using the sample to begin. To make the diagram as easy to read as possible, I would like the generalizations to use a vertical tree layout (angle = 90°) and the aggregations to use an horizontal tree layout (angle = 0°), like in this picture (where I have just moved Course class manually for the example) :

The Course class would be in a tree with an 0° angle.

I could make tree layouts on aggregations by changing the convertIsTreeLink function like this:

function convertIsTreeLink(r) {
     return (r === "generalization" || r === "aggregation");
}

but I could not change the angle only for aggregations without alternate generalizations too.

Is it possible to use both angles like in the pictures above?

Thanks for your help

I really don’t know UML, so pardon me if I am making some invalid assumptions or conclusions.

I do not think that what you are asking for is well-specified. After all, Students can have a bunch of Courses too. Perhaps you are thinking about the “composition” relationship, which this sample does not bother to implement.

TreeLayout cannot do exactly what you are asking for, if I understand you correctly, at least not without some effort. However it is relatively easy to get part of the way there.

function TwoWayTreeLayout() {
    go.TreeLayout.call(this);
  }
  go.Diagram.inherit(TwoWayTreeLayout, go.TreeLayout);

TwoWayTreeLayout.prototype.assignTreeVertexValues = function(v) {
    var pedge = v.destinationEdges.first();
    v.angle = (pedge && pedge.link.data.relationship === "aggregation") ? 0 : 90;
  };

TwoWayTreeLayout.prototype.commitLayout = function() {
    go.TreeLayout.prototype.commitLayout.call(this);
    var fdlay = new TwoWayForceDirectedLayout();
    fdlay.doLayout(this.diagram);
  };

function TwoWayForceDirectedLayout() {
    go.ForceDirectedLayout.call(this);
  }