Creating a new group on HTML button click

Hi, I am a noob here. I am trying to add a new group without any nodes inside. but so far no success. Kindly guide me to the right direction.
what I actually want to do is that…
I have a HTML button, and “onclick” it will ask user to enter groupName and groupText. and then on user confirmation, it should add an empty group to the diagram.

I have tried doing it like this…but it doesn’t change anything

var nodeObj = {key: "newKey", text: $("#inputText").val(), name: $("#inputName").val(), isGroup: true};
myDiagram.startTransaction("newGroup");
myDiagram.model.addNodeData(nodeObj);
myDiagram.commitTransaction("newGroup");

I have also tried to do it like this… but it messes up the links

var nodeObj = {key: "newKey", text: $("#inputText").val(), name: $("#inputName").val(), isGroup: true};
myDiagram.model = new go.GraphLinksModel(nodeObj);

I have noticed than when I do like this…

then I can see the node added in console. but it doesn’t appear in the diagram, and diagram.redraw() also has no effect… need help!!!

Your first try is correct. But you did not specify a location for the group, so unless your Diagram.layout positioned it for you, the new group would not have any real location. You should never have to ask the diagram to update itself – ending a transaction will do that.

Your second attempt has a wrong argument to the constructor. If you are using the debug version of the library, I think you should have gotten an error message.

I have added location but still it is not showing the new group.
here is my code…

var _go = go.GraphObject.make;
myDiagram = _go(go.Diagram, "myDiagramDiv", 
 {
    grid: _go(go.Panel, "Grid",  {gridCellSize: new go.Size(10, 10)},
          _go(go.Shape, "LineH", {stroke: "#EAEAEA"}),
          _go(go.Shape, "LineV", {stroke: "#EAEAEA"})
          ),
    allowReshape: false,
    allowResize: false,
    allowRotate: false,
    hasHorizontalScrollbar: false,