Instance

Hi, I’m new to both GoXam and the forums, so first of all, hi to you all, it’s a pleasure…

I’ve been checking the demos, and the examples, the docs, etc, etc, and there’s one thing I don’t understand, and no amount of searching around the net has helped me out, so i’m hoping there’s a kind soul here that can enlighten me on this…

In the double tree demo, there’s a command for opening a stream for the xml file, and in it, there’s this line:

Demo.MainPage.Instance.GetStream(“DoubleTree”, “xml”)

I’m guessing that Demo is the project, but on mine, my MainPage doesn’t have any reference for instance, so the demo gives me an error…

Can someone give me a rundown on how I do this, how i can make that command work?

Thanks you in advance for your time on what might be the most basic thing in the world for you guys,

Kkutlesa

That’s part of the demo framework, not part of the individual sample apps. It’s just getting textual data, XML in this case, that is stored in the demo app as a resource. You can see the definition of GetStream in MainPage.xaml.cs.

The XAML and C# sources for each sample app are also stored in the demo as resources, using the same mechanism, so that the demo framework can show that code for each sample app.

Some of the samples also support saving and loading diagrams as XML. The demo framework has a standard place for that – a TextBox that allows users to edit the XML. That’s the other potential source for textual data.

But of course your application will want to get its data in its own manner. I would not expect you to use any part of the demo framework, although you can if you wish.

Cool, thanks a lot for your help…

Now I’ve got another question (seeing that I made this thread, I think i can turn it into a FAQ thread for myself hahahaha)