IsValidLink - Embedded within Nodes

First, let me say that I am extremely new to GoDiagram tools, and I am finding the learning curve a bit daunting but I am struggling through.
I want the logic about whether or not a link can be made between two nodes to be embedded in the Node that is acting as the From Node. Is there anyway to embed this logic in the node? I have figured out how to call IsValidLink from the View.OnDragover, and View.DoExternalDrop and in the GoToolLinkingNew custom object. I do not like having all of the decentralized points though that all basically determine the same thing, and that is to determine if I can link this node to another node.
Somebody smart please advise.
Thanks in advance

It’s highly unlikely that you need to implement a Control.DragOver event handler (or override GoView.OnDragOver).

If you are just talking about drawing links between nodes in the same GoView, you don’t need to implement any Control event handlers or override any GoView methods. And the GoView.DoExternalDrop method is only called for a drag-and-drop originating in a different Control, so that isn’t involved with “linking” behavior either.

There are basically two places where you can put code to determine whether the user can draw a link between two ports: either in the linking tool (GoToolLinkingNew and/or GoToolRelinking) or in the port. In either case you’ll want to override the IsValidLink method. By default the GoToolLinking.IsValidLink method will call the GoPort.IsValidLink method in addition to various checks.

As a convenience there are some properties that you can set in order to affect the behavior of these two IsValidLink methods. For many common cases you just need to set these properties instead of overriding any methods. Take a look at the GoPort properties that have “Valid” in their names. Also take a look at the GoDocument.ValidCycle property.