LayeredDigraphLayout + Bands + Grouped Nodes

Hi,

I’m a newbie working with GoJS on a prototype that uses a LayeredDigraphLayout with bands and I have some nodes that are grouped and some nodes that are not. I’m have trouble getting things to layout in a way where the node links don’t overlap and are as straight as possible.

The following forum post seems related to my issue which gave me the idea of setting Group.layout = null on my group template.

http://www.nwoods.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=5717&KW=LayeredDigraphLayout+groups&PID=24331&title=positioning-of-nodes-within-groups#24331

That seemed to fix my overlapping lines issue and also resulted in straighter lines. But my group always shows up in the 1st band and not in the 2nd band (see screenshots below).

Node & Link Data

nodeData = [
{ key: 1, type: “task”, id: “task1”, name: “Landing Page”, channel: “web”, count: 3 },
{ key: 2, type: “split”, id: “2”, name: “Response Split”, count: 3, isGroup: true },
{ key: 3, type: “cell”, id: “3”, name: “Accepted”, count: 2, group: 2 },
{ key: 4, type: “cell”, id: “4”, name: “Did Not Accept”, count: 1, group: 2 },
{ key: 5, type: “cell”, id: “5”, name: “Remainder”, count: 0, group: 2 },
{ key: 6, type: “cell”, id: “6”, name: “Missing”, group: 2 },
{ key: 7, type: “task”, id: “task3”, name: “Followup Email”, channel: “email” },
{ key: 8, type: “task”, id: “task2”, name: “Welcome Email”, channel: “email”, count: 2 },
{ key: 9, type: “wait”, id: “9”, name: “Wait 5 Days”, count: 1 },
{ key: 10, type: “stop”, id: “10”, name: “Stop” },
];
linkData = [
{ from: 1, to: 2 },
{ from: 5, to: 12 },
{ from: 3, to: 8 },
{ from: 4, to: 9 },
{ from: 8, to: 10 },
{ from: 9, to: 7 },
{ from: 7, to: 10 },
{ from: 6, to: 7 },
{ from: 5, to: 10 },
];

Group.layout = $(go.GridLayout, { wrappingColumn: 1 })