Print Preview

Would anyone be willing to share his/her print preview solution for diagrams made with GoXam? I was thinking of using the GoXam grid mechanism to draw pages to the screen.

Also, does anyone have any experience using the output from the GoXam PrintManager with Infragistics WPF Reporting/Print Preview control? I would like the output from the GoXam PrintManager to first go to the Print Preview control before going to the printer.

Sorry if these seem like novice questions, but I’m a novice. Thanks!

It might not be too hard to implement print preview in WPF, using an XPS document viewer.

An alternative might be to draw the page breaks as a grid on top of the diagram.

I don’t think any of us have experience with Infragistics reporting or print preview.

Walter,

As always, thank you for your prompt response.

The route I am pursuing regarding printing is allowing users to choose paper size, orientation, and the number of pages wide and tall. I am able to draw the pages to the screen and am able to have the diagram overlay the pages. I also set the width and height of the diagram equal to the size of the entire grid of pages. My intent would be that the users would be able to scale the diagram and move its parts around so that the diagram lays out on the grid as they prefer. I would then set the PrintManager scale to be the same as the DiagramPanel scale and print the diagram. The result should be what-you-see-is-what-you-get.

So far I have run into two problems:

1) I cannot get see to get the PrintManager scale to bind to the DiagramPanel scale.

2) Even though I am specifically setting the width and height of the diagram, parts that lie outside of the area still print, and if those parts are to the left or top of the diagram (but outside the area of the diagram panel) their printing causes a shift of the user-defined layout of parts on the pages.

Any ideas or hints would be much appreciated. Thank you!

Try something like the following: