Refreshing the diagram once when the given value for diagram.model changes

Hi, I’m creating a web app for a small university project, which draws graphs for a particular selected course, which the graph shows the course path of the course, such as what units/subjects can taken at the start, and how the units/subjects relate to each other as prerequisites and so on.

How I made my graph to work is that it dynamically creates a JSON format data, nodeDataArray and linkDataArray, for each specific selected course, after that I assigned diagram.model = go.Model.fromJson(value), as normal.

However, once a user would select a course option and the graph is generated for that course, it never changes what so ever when the user would then selected another course.

In other words, while the JSON data changes, the diagram.model is not updated to the changed data. Is there anyway which I can refresh the diagram or refresh diagram.model everytime the JSON data has changed?

I’m not a pro in GoJS, more so of a learner right now, but any form of help will be appreciated because I’m stuck on this issue for couple of days now.

If I understand your problem correctly you want to switch out the whole model with some other model?
You can just set the new model to your Diagram.model property when the JSON data is externally changed to rebuild the whole diagram or what have you tried?

I’m not sure how I can do that.
So far I’m using GoJS in an AngularJS environment so it’s in a custom directive.

I tried using if statements by comparing directly if the current model data is the same as another model data, and if it was true to will assign the diagram.model to another model data, but that didn’t work.