Trouble with Layers

Hullo,
I am a newbie. I have two problems. (1) How to capture the event generated when a Label is changed, (2) How to implement Layers when a new View is opened
I am writing an application based on the ProtoApp sample. However. my application requires two additional pieces of functionality.

1. I need to update (add a new node) to the palette with the icons when a new node is created. A new node is created by dragging an existing node onto the drawing area. When the label is changed, I want to insert a new node with the new label as a new node in the palette window such that it is now a reusable node. I am thinking that I need to capture the changed_label event to fire off this event. (help)
  2. I need to open a new document window when an item on the drawing area is double-clicked. i.e. When I double click one of the nodes I place on the drawing area, I want to open a new MDI window where I can draw additional nodes that belong to this particular node. I am thinking that the best way to do this is to implement a new layer. [i.e. When item is double clicked-> get Item’s unique PartID, use-> generate a new layer and add it to the existing Document(GraphDoc) -> set the Layer identifier to the partID of the doubleclicked item, -> Open a new Window(GraphViewWindow) with the new layer as the layer for the window. That way, any items I place in the new window, belong to the same document, but a different layer.
    NB: I need to only show items on that particular layer. I don’t want items from other layers to show, although they belong to the same document.