TS compile of go gives error TS2345

I have a working angular app that imports the go library like so:

import * as go from 'gojs/release/go-debug';

Everything using the go-debug version of the library is fine and works great. However, as soon as I switch to importing the non-debug version of the library (like this):

import * as go from 'gojs/release/go';

At this point, I begin seeing the following compile errors from the TS compiler:

(142,28): error TS2345: Argument of type '() => void' is not assignable to parameter of type 'Constructor'.
  Type '() => void' provides no match for the signature 'new (...args: any[]): Object'.

Is this because of a licensing issue? Is there a reason I cannot use the non-debug version of the gojs library? Our company has purchased the license for the library, but I’m relatively new to learning how to import it.

Compiling TypeScript has nothing to do with licensing, so that cannot be the reason.

What is the statement/line causing that error?

The lines that are failing are:

go.Diagram.inherit(this.CustomLinkingTool, go.LinkingTool);
    go.Diagram.inherit(this.BarLink, go.Link);
    go.Diagram.inherit(this.BalloonLink, go.Link);

I am not clear on why they don’t have a compile issue with go-debug, but do with just go.

How is (for example) this.BarLink defined? Is it a function definition within a function that you define surrounding all that code?

I’m wondering if when importing from go-debug the TypeScript compiler is not finding go.d.ts, but is is finding go.d.ts when importing from go. Try copying go.d.ts to go-debug.d.ts in the same directory as the go-debug.js file, and see if importing from go-debug then results in the same compilation errors.

Let me give a bit of context to answer your first question. I have a top level component (Angular app that is webpacked) that has several methods.

@Component({
    selector: 'display',
    template: require('./display.component.html'),